Al Sharpton - Democrat Presidential Candidate for 2004

ebenz47037

Proverbs 31:10
Silver Subscriber
LIFETIME MEMBER
Hall of Fame
Will he actually have a chance? Or will he be a stumbling block for other Democrat Presidential candidates?

Story here.

I've been hearing a lot about Al Sharpton running for president in 2004 on the democrat ticket. Will he actually stand a chance at winning? Or will his running cause other democrat presidential hopefuls to stumble?

Quote from the above article:

Conservatives and a prominent local African-American leader believe that such an approach will help Republicans in 2004. Conservative columnist Cal Thomas called a Sharpton candidacy "great news for Republicans" in a January column; George Will called him "the Democratic Party’s nightmare." Reverend Gene Rivers of Boston says Sharpton’s "candidacy is a Republican political operative’s dream." He adds, "In fact, I suspect there are some Republicans who will send generous checks to support his political initiative. It weakens an already diminished Democratic Party by splitting the party further."

It may split the Democrats further, but it also may help Sharpton in his bid to supplant Jackson. "He is on a crusade to replace Jackson as the ‘premier black leader’ in the media’s eyes," says Page. "When it comes to rolling into town and rallying people, Sharpton can do it. He has that kind of rock-star appeal that Jackson had in his early days."

One thing is clear. A Sharpton candidacy in 2004 will certainly mean news.

I saw the "town hall" meeting on MSNBC a few months back where people discussed the presidential candidates for the democratic party. When the host asked the audience if they thought that Sharpton had any chance, most of them laughed about it. Things have changed recently.