ECT R.C. Sproul: Dispensationalism Brought Us The ‘Carnal Christian'.

andyc

Interesting comments from RC Sproul around 11:30 - 16:00

What I've been saying for the last ten years here.

oatmeal

Really?

That different rules and policies have been in place over time is abundantly clear.

God's plan for man's redemption and salvation required that He have a plan, a plan with different phases in it.

Carnality has been a reality beginning with the fall of man and woman.

Carnality is the fall of man and woman.

Interplanner

Really?

That different rules and policies have been in place over time is abundantly clear.

God's plan for man's redemption and salvation required that He have a plan, a plan with different phases in it.

The OT may look that way, but we are cautioned not to view it 'kata sarka' (in the ordinary sense; according to the flesh), 2 Cor 5. It always was about Christ and those who had faith in him. Judaism replaced the promise with the law (Gal 3:17) trying to make people think it was about their race and works. It never was. It came through them, but that does not mean there ever was an alternate program. The NT never sounds like there was. It even says the law is part of the 'weak and miserable elements of the world.' Gal 4, Col 2.

Interplanner

I did listen to the highlighted section and have never heard that criticism of D'ism. It's not really an area that matters to organizing (or finding the organization of) the Bible.

Danoh

All 'Christians' are carnal to one degree or another, as we all still live in a fallen body.

Yep.

Else why even the need for reminders like the following?

Romans 6:1 What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? 6:2 God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

Thank God then, for Romans 5: 6-8.

Danoh

Now that is exactly how one discusses those things - completely absent of a Bible in hand.

NOT!